our team

cashionBioWebCashion Smith

I fell in love with bicycles at a very young age. As a boy I attended Camp Carolina in the heart of Pisgah National Forest and it was in these mountains that I developed a love that has lasted 34 years. At sixteen years of age, my focus shifted to four wheels and a landscaping business that I had started, and it was not until a few years later at the University of Colorado in Boulder that the love affair was rekindled and has been burning strong since.

After graduating from the University of Colorado, I went to work in the medical device field as a trauma consultant for an orthopedic implant company. Most of the time I was dreaming of being on my bike and would sneak away every chance I could. I started working my way back home to Western North Carolina pretty much as soon as I got back to Boulder. After five years I went to a startup focusing on a brain assessment platform for the early detection of mild cognitive impairment.  I saw this as a shift towards preventative medicine, and a better lifestyle than wearing a pager.  All the same, I would sneak away whenever I could, to get on my bike, and often felt that I was working just so I could ride. After three years, I decided at long last to combine my passion for healthcare and bikes, and truly make my vocation in preventive medicine; getting folks outdoors and active!

I have traveled much of the country and a little of Canada too, living the dream, riding my bike in the spots I had read about, with some of the best riders in the world. I am constantly humbled by the skill of some of those riders, their warm hearts which led them to open their homes (and trails to us) and the raw power of the natural world that we get to play in. On my bike, in the woods, is where I find my peace, where the worries of the world melt away and life is lived for the moment. It is my goal to leave this place a little better than I found it. I figure sharing my passion for riding bikes in the great outdoors with others is a pretty good way to accomplish my goal! I could say that the fact that I get to do this with my best friend Eva is icing on the cake, but the truth is it is the cake, and the icing too.


Eva Surlseva

I grew up in the forest of East Texas and the mountains of the Colorado Rockies. I was one of those kids who always wanted to be outside, it seems not much has changed.

I graduated from NYU with a interdisciplinary degree in Integrative Health focusing on Somatic Practices. Health and healing have always been close to my heart. As a child I struggled with severe Asthma and allergies leading me to experience the western medical system at it’s fullest. While the medicines and practices of that system saved my life, they also left me with the lasting repercussions of a system that most often treats symptoms rather than the root cause. At age 16, I discovered yoga at a local recreation center, with that the doorway to holistic preventive medicine was opened and I’ve never turned back.

My focus is getting people from all walks of life, both male and female, young and old, outside and active!

After traveling the country riding amazing trails and spending time with some incredible people, I landed in the mountains of Western North Carolina, where I spend as much time as I can outside, riding bikes, continuing my studies of health and wellness, and pursing my dream of helping others become more conscious of their physical bodies and the natural world around us.

“When I see an adult on a bicycle, I do not despair for the future of the human race” – H.G. Wells.


Brian Curren

A true peregrinator, I lived all over the United States and the world. Born in Arizona, I’ve lived in upstate New York, Raleigh NC, London England, Sydney Australia, Vienna Virginia, Boulder Colorado, Charlotte NC, Fairfax Virginia, Orem & Provo Utah, Fort William Scotland, and now Asheville NC.  My travels have seen me visit close to 30 countries on five continents.

I have had outdoor adventures in Southern Utah (Virgin & Moab), the Appalachians, the Adirondacks, the Alps, the Blue Mountains, the Kangaroo Valley, Ayers Rock, the Great Barrier Reef, the Southern Alps in New Zealand, the Andes, the Atlas Mountains, the Rockies, the Uintas, Washington State (Bellingham & Leavenworth), British Columbia (Vancouver & Whistler), Prince William Sound in Alaska, the Lake District of England, Snowdonia in Wales, and the Scottish Highlands.

I have a BA Honors degree in Adventure Tourism Management from the University of the Highlands and Islands in Scotland. In addition to my degree, during my time in Australia, I participated in a six-month outdoor education program with my school learning basic survival skills.

Not just a mountain biker I enjoy rock climbing, summer & winter mountaineering, sea & whitewater kayaking, snowboarding, and really anything that gets me outside. The outdoors, and most notably mountain biking, has given me more than I could have ever imagined over the last 20+ years! Now I want to be able to share those treasures with others and give back to the outdoor community that has given me so much!


 swansequence4lJosh Moore

Riding bicycles has been an integral part of my life for as long as I can remember. My interest in riding began at an early age with a focus on dirt jumping. Finding flow, catching air, and smashing turns on challenging descents are the bullet points of my playful riding style. Some may see obstacles where others see opportunities.

A North Carolina native, I grew up in Cary, then moved westward to Asheville, and now Brevard. I attended Brevard College to earn a BA in Wilderness Leadership and Experiential Education with a minor in Business and Organizational Leadership. Some of the highlights were an 18-day sea kayaking expedition down 340 miles of the savanna river and a 21-day wilderness expedition featuring mountain biking, canoeing, and backpacking in western NC.

I enjoy spending time with nature in order to escape the stresses of modern life. It’s my goal to share this feeling with other people. I find the Appalachian Mountains to be an exciting place for an outdoor adventure. The forest is my playground.


Welcker TaylorWelcker Taylor

I was born and raised in Chattanooga, Tennessee, and from as early as I can remember, I loved riding my bike. At my 10th birthday party (BMX-themed, of course), I ruptured my spleen riding through a mud puddle. Despite being in intensive care for nearly a week and spending months inactive as I recovered, my love of biking only grew.

At the age of twelve, I entered my first mountain bike race and worked during the summer at a local bike shop. I spent four summers there, building bikes, and the rest of my time racing and riding. It didn’t matter whether it was cross country, downhill, trials, or slalom, I loved it all.

All these years later, riding a bike is much the same as it was back then, a sense of freedom from the normal worries and obligations of everyday life. Be it commuting, mountain biking, or road riding, my day is inevitably made better if there is some time spent pedaling. When not riding, I spend my time enjoying life with my wife and our three young girls and working my day job as an Asheville Firefighter/EMT.


 

1535432_10103783677726387_8160868782745310781_n

photo: Jeff Namba

Meghan Korol

I am from Chicagoland and graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison with a BFA in Studio Art.  While focusing on metalsmithing, I ventured into glassworking, textile design, mixed media installation, printmaking and painting.

I’ve always been active and throughout my time in Wisconsin I ran many half and full marathons for fun in addition to a lot of yoga, rock climbing and a bit of paddling.  To mix things up I started cross training on the bike.  Cycling really peaked my interest; with my art career on hold and no clear life direction at the end of my student career, I began working at a bike shop to learn as much about it as possible.

My coworkers at the shop taught me how to ride; I ditched my car and rode a bike nearly every day but never expected to race one.  In 2008, I won a free entry for the Wisconsin Off-Road Series, managed to put together a passable bike from my friends’ spare parts and rode it once, a week before my first race in Sport.  I learned that mountain biking is not unlike commuting on ice and snow…from my first ride I was hooked!

In 2010 I relocated to Asheville, NC, to better pursue racing and new adventures.  I also upgraded to Pro and have raced at the international level in cross country mountain bike, enduro, cyclocross, and road since then.  I love racing for the personal challenge, but even more for the places I go, experiences I have, and people I meet along the way.

Throughout my race career I’ve had some incredible mentors that have encouraged and taught me so much.  I am deeply grateful and aim to pay their efforts forward; I love sharing my passion for others, teaching skills, and guiding rides on my favorite trails!




Operating under Special Use Permit by the U.S. Forest Service. 2013.
The Bike Farm Pisgah LLC. All Rights Reserved
Site help by The Status Bureau, a digital marketing company in Vancouver
non-discrimination disclosure